Germany's fish fair 4 - 6 September 2022


Instead of February as usual, fish international will take place this year from 4-6 September 2022.

Around 303 exhibitors from 29 nations presented their products in the areas of fish production and processing, fresh fish and delicacies, as well as research and development in February 2020. More than 10,000 visitors from fisheries management, retail and catering took the opportunity for information, networking and exchange.

« Zurück zur Übersicht
 Open for change

Open for change

 Tradition and sustainability play a major role for Julia Wogart at Rud. Kanzow
The office in the former conference room of Rud. Kanzow (GmbH & Co.) KG looks somewhat improvised. However, the fact that the long conference table is now a workplace is part of the long-term planning at the long-established Hamburg fish import and trading company. Managing partner Julia Wogart had it set up for her nephew Moritz Fischer. "There was just no other room available," she laughs - with just under 40 employees, the premises, which were only occupied six years ago, are already at the limit of their capacity. Julia Wogart has made room for good reason: Even though she herself is still far from retirement age, she is preparing the next generation to work at the top of the company. "After all, this is about the preservation and long-term future security of a family business founded in 1890," emphasizes the entrepreneur.

Specialist in frozen seafood delicacies - Particular strength in the sushi sector
Nothing is as constant as change - as in many other industries, this also applies to the small and medium-sized, often owner-managed companies in the fishing industry. In addition to the challenge of a timely generation change, which is typical for medium-sized companies, there are always necessary changes in the product range and the company organization. The Hamburg import and trading company is a good example of both. When it was founded by Rudolf Kanzow 132 years ago, the focus was on trading in salted fish and canned goods. The shelf life of the products has remained an important aspect - but with a contemporary twist. Today, Kanzow trades in frozen fish products and sea delicacies from all over the world. The portfolio ranges from common sea and freshwater fish to crustaceans, mussels and molluscs, as well as salmon and convenience products such as finger food and skewers.

One of the few suppliers with special bearing for super freeze area
A large part of the traded goods is brought to Hamburg in sea containers from all over the world. For the past six years, the company has been based in a modern cold storage complex on the edge of Hamburg's Altenwerder container terminal. In addition to the location, the technology used there is an important factor for the future of the company. In addition to the classic temperature-controlled cold storage facility, Rud. Kanzow is one of the few suppliers in Germany to operate a super-freeze area cooled to - 60°C. This is where, for example, particularly sensitive goods are stored. Among other things, particularly sensitive tuna for sushi products is stored there, which would lose its optical quality at only slightly higher temperatures. Over the years, Kanzow has built up special expertise in importing such products. For Julia Wogart, evolving with the market is an important part of the company's strategy: "We now also have a growing proportion of vegan alternatives to fish products in our range," she names one example.

Fundamental change through entry into the company
Anyone who runs such a trading house with around 1,800 different products in the "catalog" must have a profound basic knowledge. "When you grow up in a family that deals in fish, you are taught the basics practically day by day," laughs Julia Wogart. Nevertheless, joining the company and the management meant a fundamental change for her: "I'm a teacher by background and hadn't actually thought about going into business," she admits open-heartedly, and then also lets it be known that the decision wasn't difficult for her in the end: "Ultimately, it was a question of whether we wanted to keep the company in the family or not." Her grandfather Heinz Wogart had taken a similarly courageous step - he took over the company from the childless founder also with the aim of maintaining and expanding the work created by his friend. Julia Wogart's father Dirk proves how close the family ties are - at the age of 81, he continues to support his daughter with advice and support.
Before she took the helm at the company, Julia Wogart first took a careful look around: "There was still a lot for me to learn. Who does what, how and where? Why is it done that way? Only once the existing processes are understood can the question be addressed: Does it have to be this way, or can it be done differently? The change in management came at the right time for the search for answers to such questions: "The IFS certification was just around the corner, so we had to look at and review all the processes anyway," Julia Wogart recalls.

Certification process and personal impressions as a basis for realignment
With the new structures gradually introduced in the company, Julia Wogart followed the internal findings from the certification process and her personal impressions. There were other external motivations: The customers are among the particularly demanding buyers. The company supplies cruise lines as well as processors in the fish industry, catering companies, and food wholesalers and retailers. As diverse as the total of around 1,100 customers are, they rely on two factors at Kanzow: "Our core competencies lie in the quality of the goods we supply and in our flexibility to respond to short-term or unusual customer requests," says Julia Wogart.

Reliable delivery is another part of the company's claim. Recently, the family-owned company has been facing particular challenges in this regard. Kanzow sources its goods from partners in more than 35 countries around the world: "Accordingly, we are also feeling the effects of the ongoing disruptions to international trade routes," reports the managing director. Now it is paying off that the company has long relied on a high level of stockpiling - in combination with the digitalization of internal and external processes in recent years, Kanzow is thus also well positioned for the current situation. To ensure that this remains the case in the coming years, she is now setting the course - and with Moritz Fischer, she is introducing the next generation to the management of the company in the long term.

 

 Open for change

fish international…

  • gives traders a platform where they can gain information on what's new in the German market and get a good overview of the fish industry.
  • offers a varied and individual assortment of fish to give traders ideas for achieving better market positioning.
  • presents a concentrated display of machines and technical aids and appliances for SMEs.
  • shows a broad spectrum of counter concepts for fishmongers and mobile fishmongers that is only to be found in Bremen.
  • gives you time to talk to other fish industry members so you can discuss ways to perfect your everyday work.

fish international – that is over 10,000 sqm of exhibition space for around 303 exhibitors from 29 nations in 2020. A good 10,000 visitors from the fishing industry, retail and gastronomy come here to find suppliers, get information and exchange ideas. 85% of the trade visitors are involved in purchasing decisions in their company.

gastro iventGASTRO IVENT, which usually takes place in parallel, will now be organised in January 28-30, 2023 as a Special Edition separately from fish international. In 2024, we plan to return together again.

Die Fischmesse in Deutschland 25.-27. Februar 2024


Die fish international ist die einzige Fachmesse für Fisch und Seafood in Deutschland – eine Plattform für den Handel und die Gastronomie. In Bremen informiert sich der Handel über neue Produkte am deutschen Markt und verschafft sich einen Überblick über Neuheiten und Entwicklungen.

« Zurück zur Übersicht
Offen für den Wandel

Offen für den Wandel

Tradition und Zukunftsfähigkeit spielen für Julia Wogart bei Rud. Kanzow eine große Rolle
Das Büro im ehemaligen Konferenzraum der Rud. Kanzow (GmbH & Co.) KG wirkt etwas improvisiert. Dass der lange Besprechungstisch jetzt ein Arbeitsplatz ist, gehört jedoch zur langfristigen Planung in dem traditionsreichen Hamburger Fischimport- und Handelshaus. Die Geschäftsführende Gesellschafterin Julia Wogart hat ihn für ihren Neffen Moritz Fischer einrichten lassen. „Es war gerade kein anderer Raum frei“, lacht sie - mit knapp 40 Beschäftigten sind die erst vor sechs Jahren bezogenen Räumlichkeiten schon wieder an der Kapazitätsgrenze. Aus gutem Grund hat Julia Wogart Platz geschaffen: Auch wenn sie selbst noch weit vom Pensionsalter entfernt ist, bereitet sie die nächste Generation auf die Arbeit an der Unternehmensspitze vor. „Hier geht es schließlich um den Erhalt und die langfristige Zukunftssicherheit eines 1890 gegründeten Familienunternehmens“, betont die Unternehmerin.

Spezialist für tiefgekühlte Meeresdelikatessen – Besondere Stärke im Sushi-Bereich
Nichts ist so beständig wie der Wandel - wie in vielen anderen Branchen gilt dies auch für die kleinen und mittleren, häufig inhabergeführten Unternehmen der Fischwirtschaft. Zu der für den Mittelstand typischen Herausforderung eines rechtzeitigen Generationswechsels gesellen sich immer wieder notwendige Veränderungen in der Produktpalette und der Unternehmensorganisation. Für beides ist das Hamburger Import- und Handelshaus ein gutes Beispiel. Als es von Rudolf Kanzow vor 132 Jahren gegründet wurde, stand der Handel mit Salzfisch und Konserven im Vordergrund. Die Lagerfähigkeit der Produkte ist ein wichtiger Aspekt geblieben - allerdings in einer zeitgemäßen Variante. Heute handelt Kanzow mit tiefgekühlten Fischprodukten und Meeresdelikatessen aus aller Welt. Das Portfolio reicht von den gängigen See- und Süßwasserfischen über Krustentiere, Muscheln und Mollusken bis zu Lachs- und Convenience-Produkten wie Fingerfood und Spießen.

Einer der wenigen Anbieter mit Speziallager für Super-Freeze-Bereich
Ein großer Teil der gehandelten Ware wird in Seecontainern aus aller Welt nach Hamburg gebracht. Seit sechs Jahren ist die Firma in einem modernen Kühllager-Komplex am Rande des Hamburger Containerterminals Altenwerder ansässig. Neben dem Standort ist die dort eingesetzte Technik eine wichtige Größe für die Zukunft der Firma. Zusätzlich zu dem klassisch temperierten TK-Lager betreibt Rud. Kanzow als einer von wenigen Anbietern in Deutschland einen auf - 60°C gekühlten Super-Freeze-Bereich. Dort wird unter anderem besonders empfindlicher Thunfisch für Sushi-Produkte gelagert wird, der schon bei nur geringfügig höheren Temperaturen seine optische Qualität einbüßen würde. Für den Import solcher Produkte hat Kanzow im Laufe der Jahre eine besondere Kompetenz aufgebaut. Sich mit dem Markt zu entwickeln, ist für Julia Wogart ein wichtiger Bestandteil der Unternehmensstrategie: „Wir haben mittlerweile auch einen wachsenden Anteil an veganen Alternativen zu Fischprodukten im Programm“, benennt sie ein Beispiel.

Grundlegende Veränderung durch den Einstieg ins Unternehmen
Wer ein solches Handelshaus mit rund 1800 verschiedenen Produkten im „Katalog“ führt, muss über ein profundes Basiswissen verfügen. „Wenn man in einer Familie aufwächst, die mit Fisch handelt, bekommt man die Grundlagen praktisch Tag für Tag vermittelt“, lacht Julia Wogart. Dennoch bedeutete der Einstieg ins Unternehmen und in die Geschäftsführung für sie eine grundlegende Veränderung: „Von Haus aus bin ich Lehrerin und hatte eigentlich auch gar nicht daran gedacht, ins Unternehmen zu gehen“, bekennt sie offenherzig und lässt dann auch erkennen, dass ihr die Entscheidung am Ende nicht schwerfiel: „Letztlich war es die Frage, ob wir das Unternehmen in der Familie halten wollen oder nicht.“ Ihr Großvater Heinz Wogart hatte einen ähnlich mutigen Schritt getan - er übernahm die Firma vom kinderlosen Gründer auch mit dem Ziel, das von seinem Freund geschaffene Werk zu erhalten und auszubauen. Wie eng die Familienbande sind, beweist Julia Wogarts Vater Dirk - mit 81 Jahren steht er seiner Tochter weiterhin mit Rat und Tat zur Seite.

Bevor sie das Ruder im Unternehmen fest in die Hand nahm, schaute sich Julia Wogart erst einmal sorgfältig in der Firma um: „Es gab ja noch jede Menge für mich zu lernen.“ Wer macht was wie und wo? Warum wird das so gemacht? Erst wer die bestehenden Abläufe verstanden hat, kann sich auch der Frage widmen: Muss das so sein oder geht das auch anders? Für die Suche nach Antworten auf solche Fragen kam der Wechsel in der Unternehmensführung zum passenden Zeitpunkt: „Es stand gerade die IFS-Zertifizierung an, da mussten wir ohnehin alle Prozesse anschauen und überprüfen“, erinnert sich Julia Wogart.

Zertifizierungsprozess und persönliche Eindrücke als Basis für Neuausrichtung
Mit den schrittweisen eingeführten neuen Strukturen im Unternehmen folgte Julia Wogart den internen Erkenntnissen aus dem Zertifizierungsprozess und ihren persönlichen Eindrücken. Es gab weitere äußere Beweggründe: Die Kunden gehören zu den besonders anspruchsvollen Abnehmern. Das Unternehmen beliefert Kreuzfahrtreedereien genauso wie Weiterverarbeiter in der Fischindustrie, Catering-Betriebe sowie den Lebensmittel-Groß- und Einzelhandel. So unterschiedlich die insgesamt rund 1100 Kunden auch sind, vertrauen sie bei Kanzow auf zwei Faktoren: „Unsere Kernkompetenzen liegen in der Qualität, der von uns gelieferten Waren und in der Flexibilität, auch auf kurzfristige oder ungewöhnliche Kundenwünsche zu reagieren“, sagt Julia Wogart.

Zuverlässig zu liefern, ist ein weiterer Teil des Firmenanspruchs. In jüngster Zeit steht das Familienunternehmen dabei vor besonderen Herausforderungen. Kanzow bezieht seine Waren von Partner aus mehr als 35 Ländern weltweit: „Entsprechend bekommen auch wir die anhaltenden Störungen der internationalen Handelswege zu spüren“, berichtet die Geschäftsführerin. Jetzt zahlt es sich aus, dass das Unternehmen schon lange auf eine hohe Vorratshaltung gesetzt hat - in Kombination mit der Digitalisierung der internen und externen Prozesse in den vergangenen Jahren ist Kanzow so auch für die aktuelle Situation gut aufgestellt. Damit das auch in den kommenden Jahren so bleibt, stellt sie jetzt die Weichen - und führt mit Moritz Fischer die nächste Generation langfristig an die Leitung des Unternehmens heran.

Offen für den Wandel

Die fish international bietet:

  • Fisch und Seafood in einer vielfältigen Produktauswahl: frisch, geräuchert, gefroren, mariniert
  • Verkaufsausstattungen, Thekenkonzepte und Lösungen für den mobilen und stationären Fachhandel
  • Maschinen und technische Hilfsmittel für die Fischverarbeitung
  • Technologie und Zubehör für die Fischzucht

fish international – das sind über 10.000 qm Ausstellungsfläche für mehr als 320 Ausstellende aus 27 Nationen. Fachexperten aus der Fischindustrie, dem Großhandel, Einzelhandel und der Gastronomie besuchen die Fischmesse um Lieferanten zu finden, sich zu informieren und auszutauschen.

85% der Fachbesucher sind an Einkaufsentscheidungen in ihrem Unternehmen beteiligt.

gastro iventDie GASTRO IVENT, die sonst parallel stattfindet, wird in 2023 als Special Edition unabhängig von der fish international vom 28. bis 30. Januar 2023 veranstaltet. Ab 2024 gehen wir den Weg dann wieder gemeinsam.