Germany's fish fair 25 - 27 February 2024


The fish international is the only trade fair for fish and seafood in Germany - a platform for the trade and the gastronomy. In Bremen, the trade finds out about new products on the German market and gets an overview of innovations and developments.
« Zurück zur Übersicht
Growing interest in certified fish in commercial kitchens

Growing interest in certified fish in commercial kitchens

Survey by fish international indicates opportunities for the fish industry
Increasingly, chefs in commercial kitchens are turning to raw products from certified fisheries and sustainable production. This is revealed in statements by leading representatives of community catering in a survey conducted by the fish international. To make fish even more appealing to their guests in company and student canteens, residential homes and event catering, providers such as the market leader Deutsche See are adding convenience products to their already estalished sustainable offerings. Among the factors that hold back the consumption of more fish in canteens is not only cost pressure in many commercial kitchens. Additionally, chefs continue to be wary of the work involved in preparing fish products and presenting them appetisingly on self-service counters. All these issues will be tackled at the fish international trade fair from 4 to 6 September 2022 in Bremen, Germany.

Broad range from one fish dish per week to one per day
Due to its recognition as a healthy food, fish is featured increasingly on the menus of canteens, event caterers and other large-volume consumers. In the survey by fish international, especially large providers of community catering expressed a willingness to use more fish in their kitchens. For example, the Lufthansa subsidiary LZ Catering stated that it regularly tries to offer at least one fish dish per day in the canteens it serves. In the Fraport canteens in Frankfurt, the airport catering service provides fish twice per week, with Friday always a fish day. Similarly, Deutsche Bahn Gastronomie, a certified provider of meals according to the JOB&FIT initiative, serves fish once or twice a week.

It's an open secret that many caterers in the large-volume consumer sector operate under extreme cost pressure. Naturally, managers of canteens in large companies also need to keep an eye on costs. However, because the quality of the midday meal is an important component of corporate motivation strategies, more and more companies are prepared to pay good prices for good food. Fish can benefit from this, because many company bosses have recognised that quality and price are closely connected.

Growing sense of responsibility for origin
In parallel to the growing interest in sustainability among the public, large-volume caterers are increasingly aware of their responsibility for the origin of the produce they sell. For example, the large-volume caterer Aramark states that it only uses ASC or MSC-certified raw ingredients. Because sustainability is also about aspects such as the carbon footprint in the entire supply chain, Aramark is also keen to buy more ingredients regionally. The central purchasing department of Bayer AG holds a similar view and increasingly considers supply distances in its overall calculations. If distances to producers in the Netherlands or Belgium are shorter, some companies buy there rather than from German suppliers. Many large customers would like to buy from local suppliers, but sometimes a regional fish supply is not available.

Commercial kitchens need guidance on buying the right raw produce
Due to the framework conditions in many commercial kitchens, the idea of sustainability is still relatively new. The answers from the survey indicate that large-volume consumers need guidance to help them select appropriate products. Today, certifications such as the ASC and MSC are well established. If they want to buy non-certified products, many of the respondents stated that they follow the purchasing guidelines issued by environmental protection organisations such as the WWF or Greenpeace.

When it comes to fish and sustainability, many large-volume customers rely on the competence of major suppliers in Germany. Deutsche See draws on a long history of focusing on sustainability. As early as in 2010, the company received the German Sustainability Award for its activities in this area. The fish processor is also committed to developing new products suitable for commercial kitchens. The company in Bremerhaven not only develops new taste creations, but also deals with practical aspects of fish preparation. According to their analysis, one reason why fish is still underrepresented in commercial kitchens is that fish dishes often require more complex preparation.

Convenience products reduce workloads on kitchen staff
As a rule, community caterers have to provide large quantities of meals in a short time. However, cost pressure on many canteen operators means that staffing is tight. In company canteens, finished meals sometimes stay on the counter for a long time. But guests expect especially fish to look fresh and just-cooked. To ensure consumers find appetising fish products in canteens, Deutsche See also relies on convenience products which are fast and easy to prepare, such as frozen fillet on a bed of vegetables. This gives even small kitchen teams the freedom they need to concentrate on side dishes such as rice and potatoes.

New product developments also reflect consumer trends such as the growing interest in healthy eating. Despite this, battered saithe with potato salad remains one of the most popular classics in canteens. However, even when it comes to tradition, changes are afoot: Friday remains the standard fish day in Germany, but Deutsche See has established that "Tuesday is the new Friday".

Covid pandemic drives new distribution channels and more service
The effects of the Covid pandemic have also illustrated how the communal catering industry is ready to embrace new developments. The move towards working from home left many canteens empty. It took a while, but then canteen operators responded to the new situation. Lots of company canteens set up their own collection or delivery services and supplied employees at home with meals they could heat up themselves. Now many in the sector expect demand for services like this to continue even after the end of the pandemic. This is why companies in the fish industry would do well to develop products in this area to secure their own future.

Growing interest in certified fish in commercial kitchens

fish international…

  • gives traders a platform where they can gain information on what's new in the German market and get a good overview of the fish industry.
  • offers a varied and individual assortment of fish to give traders ideas for achieving better market positioning.
  • presents a concentrated display of machines and technical aids and appliances for SMEs.
  • shows a broad spectrum of counter concepts for fishmongers and mobile fishmongers that is only to be found in Bremen.
  • gives you time to talk to other fish industry members so you can discuss ways to perfect your everyday work.

fish international – that is over 10,000 sqm of exhibition space for more than 320 exhibitors from 27 nations. Experts from the fish industry, wholesale, retail and gastronomy visit the fish fair to find suppliers, inform themselves and to exchange ideas.

gastro iventGASTRO IVENT, which usually takes place in parallel, will now be organised in January 28-30, 2023 as a Special Edition separately from fish international. In 2024, we plan to return together again.

Die Fischmesse in Deutschland 25.-27. Februar 2024


Die fish international ist die einzige Fachmesse für Fisch und Seafood in Deutschland – eine Plattform für den Handel und die Gastronomie. In Bremen informiert sich der Handel über neue Produkte am deutschen Markt und verschafft sich einen Überblick über Neuheiten und Entwicklungen.

« Zurück zur Übersicht
In der Großküche wächst das Interesse an zertifiziertem Fisch

In der Großküche wächst das Interesse an zertifiziertem Fisch

Umfrage der fish international zeigt Chancen für die Fischwirtschaft auf
Großküchen-Köche vertrauen zunehmend auf Rohwaren aus zertifizierter Fischerei und nachhaltiger Produktion. Das zeigen die Statements führender Vertreter aus der Gemeinschaftsverpflegung in einer Umfrage der fish international. Um den Gästen in Betriebskantinen, Mensen, Heimen und der Event-Gastronomie Fisch noch schmackhafter zu machen, setzen Anbieter wie der Marktführer Deutsche See ergänzend zu ihren bereits etablierten nachhaltigen Produkten auf Convenience-Zubereitungen. Zu den Hemmnissen für den Verkauf von mehr Fisch in den Kantinen zählt nicht nur der Kostendruck in vielen Großküchen: Küchenchefs fürchten nach wie vor den Aufwand für die Zubereitung von Fischprodukten und ihre appetitliche Präsentation in Selbstbedienungstheken. All diese Themen finden sich auf der Fachmesse fish international vom 4. bis 6. September 2022 in Bremen wieder.


Bandbreite zwischen einem Fischgericht pro Woche und pro Tag
Als anerkannt gesundes Lebensmittel steht Fisch immer häufiger auf den Speiseplänen von Firmenrestaurants, Event-Caterern und anderen Großverbrauchern. Doch insbesondere die großen Anbieter in der Gemeinschaftsverpflegung ließen im Stimmungsbild für die fish international die Bereitschaft zu mehr Fisch-Einsatz in der Küche erkennen. Die Lufthansa-Tochter LZ Catering beispielsweise versucht nach eigenen Angaben regelmäßig, mindestens ein Fischgericht pro Tag in den belieferten Betriebsrestaurants anzubieten. In den Frankfurter Fraport-Kantinen setzt der Airport Catering Service zwei Mal wöchentlich Fischgerichte auf das Tagesprogramm; freitags ist grundsätzlich Fischtag. Ähnlich agiert die Deutsche Bahn Gastronomie, die als JOB&FIT-zertifizierter Anbieter den Speiseplänen dieser Aktion folgt und ein bis zwei Mal pro Woche Fisch auf den Tisch bringt.

In der Großverbraucher-Branche ist es ein offenes Geheimnis, dass viele Verpfleger unter einem enormen Kostendruck stehen. In den Betriebsrestaurants großer Unternehmen müssen die Betriebsleiter der Gastronomie zwar ebenfalls auf die Kosten schauen. Weil aber die Qualität des Mittagessens ein wichtiger Bestandteil der unternehmerischen Motivationsstrategien ist, sind immer mehr Firmen bereit, für gutes Essen auch gutes Geld zu investieren. Davon kann der Fisch profitieren – viele Betriebsleiter haben offenbar erkannt, dass Qualität und Preis eng zusammenhängen.

Wachsendes Verantwortungsbewusstsein für die Herkunft der Ware
Parallel zum wachsenden Interesse am Thema Nachhaltigkeit in der Bevölkerung entwickeln GV-Gastronomen verstärkt Verantwortungsbewusstsein für die Herkunft der verkauften Ware. Der Groß-Caterer Aramark beispielsweise kauft nach eigenen Angaben nur ASC- oder MSC-zertifizierte Rohware ein. Weil zu Nachhaltigkeit auch Aspekte wie der CO2-Fußabdruck in der gesamten Supply-Chain gehören, würde Aramark gerne verstärkt regional einkaufen. Ähnlich sieht es auch der Zentraleinkauf der Bayer AG – dort werden Lieferwege immer stärker in die Gesamtüberlegungen einbezogen. Wenn der Weg zu den Produzenten in den Niederlanden oder Belgien näher ist, kauft manches Unternehmen lieber dort als bei deutschen Lieferanten. Viele Großkunden würden auch gerne bei Lieferanten vor Ort einkaufen, allerdings gibt es mitunter gar kein regionales Fischangebot.

Großküchen brauchen Orientierungshilfe beim Einkauf der richtigen Rohwaren
Das Thema Nachhaltigkeit steht angesichts der Rahmenbedingungen in vielen Großküchen in der Gemeinschaftsverpflegung noch am Anfang einer Entwicklung. Die Äußerungen in der Umfrage lassen darauf schließen, dass Großverbraucher eine Orientierungshilfe bei der Auswahl der „richtigen“ Produkte benötigen. Siegel wie ASC und MSC sind mittlerweile etabliert. Für die Bewertung nicht zertifizierter Produkte greifen etliche der Befragten den eigenen Angaben zufolge zu den „Einkaufshilfen“ von Umweltschutzorganisationen wie WWF oder Greenpeace.

Wenn es um Fisch und Nachhaltigkeit geht, vertrauen viele GV-Kunden auf die Kompetenz der großen Lieferanten in Deutschland. Die Deutsche See kann dabei auf eine lange Historie in den Nachhaltigkeitsbestrebungen verweisen – bereits 2010 wurde das Unternehmen für sein Engagement mit dem Deutschen Nachhaltigkeitspreis ausgezeichnet. Ähnlich engagiert sich die Fischmanufaktur in der Entwicklung neuer, Großküchen-tauglicher Produkte. Dabei befassen sich die Bremerhavener nicht nur mit neuen geschmacklichen Kreationen, sondern auch mit den praktischen Aspekten der Fischzubereitung. Denn dass Fisch in den Großküchen nach wie vor unterrepräsentiert ist, hängt offenbar auch damit zusammen, dass die Gerichte mitunter höhere Ansprüche an die Zubereitung stellen.

Convenience-Produkte entlasten die Küchenmannschaften
Gemeinschaftsverpfleger müssen in der Regel in kurzer Zeit große Mengen an Essen bereitstellen. Zugleich haben viele Betriebe angesichts der Kosten eine dünne Personaldecke. In Betriebskantinen liegen die fertig zubereiteten Gerichte unter Umständen längere Zeit in der Theke – doch gerade bei Fisch erwarten die Gäste, dass er frisch und wie gerade zubereitet wirkt. Um ihnen in dieser Situation Fischprodukte schmackhaft zu machen, setzt Deutsche See auch auf Convenienceprodukte – wie beispielsweise tiefgekühltes Filet im Gemüsebett – für eine schnelle und einfache Zubereitung. Das verschafft auch einem kleinen Küchenteam die Luft, um sich auf Beilagen wie Reis oder Kartoffeln zu konzentrieren.

In den Produktentwicklungen spiegeln sich auch Verbrauchertrends wie das gewachsene Interesse an einer bewussten Ernährung wider. Allerdings gehört Seelachs im Backteig mit Kartoffelsalat nach wie vor zu den beliebten Klassikern in den Kantinen. Doch es zeigt sich auch bei den Traditionen eine Veränderung: „Dienstag entwickelt sich zum neuen Freitag“, heißt es bei Deutsche See mit Blick darauf, dass in Deutschland Freitag immer noch der Fischtag ist.

Corona-Pandemie gibt Anstoß zu neuen Vertriebswegen und mehr Service
Dass die GV-Branche bereit für neue Entwicklungen ist, zeigte sich auch an den Auswirkungen der Corona-Pandemie. Durch die Verlagerung von Büroarbeit ins Homeoffice leeren sich viele Kantinen. Es dauerte ein bisschen, doch dann reagierten die Betriebsleiter: Viele Betriebsrestaurants etablierten einen eigenen Abhol- oder Lieferservice und versorgten die Beschäftigten zu Hause mit einem Mittagessen zum Aufwärmen. Mittlerweile rechnen viele damit, dass solche Angebote auch nach dem Ende der Pandemie einen Markt finden. Für die Fischwirtschaft könnte es deshalb wichtig sein, sich darauf mit Produktentwicklungen als Teil der eigenen Zukunftssicherung einzustellen.

In der Großküche wächst das Interesse an zertifiziertem Fisch

Die fish international bietet:

  • Fisch und Seafood in einer vielfältigen Produktauswahl: frisch, geräuchert, gefroren, mariniert
  • Verkaufsausstattungen, Thekenkonzepte und Lösungen für den mobilen und stationären Fachhandel
  • Maschinen und technische Hilfsmittel für die Fischverarbeitung
  • Technologie und Zubehör für die Fischzucht

fish international – das sind über 10.000 qm Ausstellungsfläche für mehr als 320 Ausstellende aus 27 Nationen. Fachexperten aus der Fischindustrie, dem Großhandel, Einzelhandel und der Gastronomie besuchen die Fischmesse um Lieferanten zu finden, sich zu informieren und auszutauschen.

85% der Fachbesucher sind an Einkaufsentscheidungen in ihrem Unternehmen beteiligt.

gastro iventDie GASTRO IVENT, die sonst parallel stattfindet, wird in 2023 als Special Edition unabhängig von der fish international vom 28. bis 30. Januar 2023 veranstaltet. Ab 2024 gehen wir den Weg dann wieder gemeinsam.