Germany's fish fair 25 - 27 February 2024


The fish international is the only trade fair for fish and seafood in Germany - a platform for the trade and the gastronomy. In Bremen, the trade finds out about new products on the German market and gets an overview of innovations and developments.
« Zurück zur Übersicht
Closely linked to the medium-sized fishing industry

Closely linked to the medium-sized fishing industry

She is Norwegian, but has spent almost all her life in Hamburg. This is not entirely unusual for Scandinavians with business interests in Germany. But in the case of Karoline Longem Skaar, this combination certainly has a symbolic meaning. The young entrepreneur exemplifies the close ties that characterise the relationship between the mostly owner-operated medium-sized fish businesses in Norway and Germany. Together with her mother Kari Longem, she represents the Norwegian fish trading company Skaar International in the Hanseatic city, which her parents founded in the Hanseatic city as a representative of their domestic fish trading company Skaarfish and established as a partner especially for small and medium-sized processors.

High quality awareness developed early in the company's history
Herring and mackerel were the focus when Karoline's great-grandfather created the basis for today's company in Måløy - just under 200 kilometres north of Bergen as the crow flies. Initially, the trader supplied customers within the country with herring and mackerel from the catches off the Norwegian west coast. Just one generation later, the Skaar family established its first international relationships. The fact that these reached as far as Japan a short time later - and still do today - is thanks to the Skaars' quality awareness. "The Japanese attach great importance to premium products," knows Karoline Skaar . "For my grandfather, it was therefore also a matter of course to send hand-picked herrings to a customer there, despite the enormous transport costs." Such a service was unusual at the time, but it paid off with success on the Japanese market.

Represented in Hamburg since 1985 - own breeding farm in Norway
Since 1985, the family business has maintained such close and good customer relations with German and international partners, also from Hamburg. "My parents opened the office here back then," Karoline Skaar reports. In the meantime, the company had created a second mainstay in its Norwegian homeland alongside the trade by rearing its own salmon trout and is now one of the country's big players in this field.  The main customers of Skaar's trading division in Germany are small and medium-sized smokehouses as well as manufacturers of preserves: "Since 1990 we have had another branch in Rostock, from where we supply the eastern federal states," explains Karoline Longem Skaar. However, the trade offer goes beyond the sale of the company's own goods - halibut and mackerel are among the other main products.

"Fish means family to me"
The conversation with the young entrepreneur about the company is exemplary of how customer relations are cultivated at Skaar. Being on first-name terms is a matter of course in Scandinavian-speaking countries; Karoline Longem Skaar has "imported" this tradition into the rather conservative Hamburg. Even though she talks openly about her work, the company and herself in a cheerful light-heartedness, this does not hide one thing: if need be, she can also be a "tough" businesswoman.

"Fish means family to me," she admits open-heartedly. Even though she actually speaks with a Hamburg accent rather than a Norwegian one, she does not deny her love for her family's homeland: "Four to six times a year we are in Norway," she says, "I enjoy that every time." Talking to the people there is just as important to her as talking to customers in Germany: "Even in the age of digitalisation, you simply need personal contact." Karoline Longem Skaar will soon have ample opportunity to do so again. From 4 to 6 September, Skaar International will be represented at fish international: "We have been there for 30 years. And I'm already looking forward to it."

 

Closely linked to the medium-sized fishing industry

fish international…

  • gives traders a platform where they can gain information on what's new in the German market and get a good overview of the fish industry.
  • offers a varied and individual assortment of fish to give traders ideas for achieving better market positioning.
  • presents a concentrated display of machines and technical aids and appliances for SMEs.
  • shows a broad spectrum of counter concepts for fishmongers and mobile fishmongers that is only to be found in Bremen.
  • gives you time to talk to other fish industry members so you can discuss ways to perfect your everyday work.

fish international – that is over 10,000 sqm of exhibition space for more than 320 exhibitors from 27 nations. Experts from the fish industry, wholesale, retail and gastronomy visit the fish fair to find suppliers, inform themselves and to exchange ideas.

gastro iventGASTRO IVENT, which usually takes place in parallel, will now be organised in January 28-30, 2023 as a Special Edition separately from fish international. In 2024, we plan to return together again.

Die Fischmesse in Deutschland 25.-27. Februar 2024


Die fish international ist die einzige Fachmesse für Fisch und Seafood in Deutschland – eine Plattform für den Handel und die Gastronomie. In Bremen informiert sich der Handel über neue Produkte am deutschen Markt und verschafft sich einen Überblick über Neuheiten und Entwicklungen.

« Zurück zur Übersicht
Der mittelständischen Fischwirtschaft eng verbunden

Der mittelständischen Fischwirtschaft eng verbunden

Sie ist Norwegerin, hat aber fast ihr ganzes Leben in Hamburg verbracht. Für Skandinavier mit geschäftlichen Interessen in Deutschland ist das nicht ganz ungewöhnlich. Aber im Fall von Karoline Longem Skaar hat diese Kombination durchaus eine symbolische Bedeutung. Die junge Unternehmerin steht beispielhaft für die enge Verbundenheit, die die Beziehungen zwischen den zumeist inhabergeführten mittelständischen Fischbetrieben in Norwegen und Deutschland prägt. Gemeinsam mit ihrer Mutter Kari Longem repräsentiert sie in der Hansestadt das norwegische Fischhandelshaus Skaar International, das ihre Eltern in der Hansestadt als Vertretung ihres heimischen Fischhandelshauses Skaarfish gegründet und als Partner insbesondere für kleine und mittelständische Verarbeiter etabliert haben.

Schon früh in der Unternehmensgeschichte hohes Qualitätsbewusstsein entwickelt
Hering und Makrele standen im Mittelpunkt, als Karolines Urgroßvater in Måløy – knapp 200 Kilometer Luftlinie nördlich von Bergen – die Basis für das heutige Unternehmen schuf. Zunächst versorgte der Händler Kunden innerhalb des Landes mit Hering und Makrelen aus den Fängen vor der norwegischen Westküste. Bereits eine Generation später knüpfte die Familie Skaar erste internationale Beziehungen. Dass diese schon kurze Zeit später – und auch heute noch – bis Japan reichen, ist dem Qualitätsbewusstsein der Skaars zu verdanken. „Japaner legen großen Wert auf Premiumprodukte“, weiß Karoline Skaar . „Für meinen Großvater war es deswegen trotz der enormen Transportkosten auch selbstverständlich, einem Kunden dort handverlesene Heringe zu schicken.“ Ein solcher Service war damals außergewöhnlich, hat sich aber durch den Erfolg auf dem japanischen Markt ausgezahlt.

Seit 1985 in Hamburg vertreten - eigener Zuchtbetrieb in Norwegen
Seit 1985 pflegt das Familienunternehmen derartig enge und gute Kundenbeziehungen zu deutschen und internationalen Partnern auch von Hamburg aus. „Meine Eltern haben damals das Büro hier eröffnet“, berichtet Karoline Skaar. In ihrer norwegischen Heimat hatte die Firma in der Zwischenzeit mit einer eigenen Aufzucht von Lachsforellen ein zweites Standbein neben dem Handel geschaffen und gehört in diesem Bereich mittlerweile zu den Großen des Landes.  Zu den Hauptkunden der Skaar-Handelssparte gehören in Deutschland kleine und mittlere Räuchereien sowie Hersteller von Konserven: „Seit 1990 haben wir in Rostock eine weitere Niederlassung, von dort beliefern wir die östlichen Bundesländer“, erläutert Karoline Longem Skaar. Das Handelsangebot geht aber über den Verkauf der eigenen Ware hinaus – Heilbutt und Makrele gehören zu den weiteren Produktschwerpunkten.

„Fisch bedeutet für mich Familie“
Das Gespräch mit der jungen Unternehmerin über die Firma ist beispielhaft dafür, wie im Hause Skaar Kundenbeziehungen gepflegt werden. Sich zu duzen ist im skandinavischen Sprachraum selbstverständlich; Karoline Longem Skaar hat diese Tradition ins eher konservative Hamburg „importiert“. Auch wenn sie offen über ihre Arbeit, das Unternehmen und sich selbst in fröhlicher Unbeschwertheit erzählt, täuscht dies über eines nicht hinweg: Wenn es sein muss, kann sie auch eine „taffe“ Geschäftsfrau sein.

„Fisch bedeutet für mich Familie“, bekennt sie offenherzig. Auch wenn sie eigentlich eher mit hamburgischem als mit norwegischem Akzent spricht, leugnet sie die Liebe zur Heimat ihrer Familie nicht: „Vier bis sechs Mal im Jahr sind wir in Norwegen“, sagt sie, „das genieße ich dann jedes Mal.“ Das Gespräch mit den Menschen dort ist ihr genauso wichtig wie mit den Kunden in Deutschland: „Auch im Zeitalter der Digitalisierung braucht man einfach den persönlichen Kontakt.“ Demnächst hat Karoline Longem Skaar wieder ausreichend Gelegenheit dazu. Vom 4. bis 6. September ist Skaar International auf der fish international vertreten: „Wir sind schon seit 30 Jahren dabei. Und ich freue mich schon darauf.“
Der mittelständischen Fischwirtschaft eng verbunden

Die fish international bietet:

  • Fisch und Seafood in einer vielfältigen Produktauswahl: frisch, geräuchert, gefroren, mariniert
  • Verkaufsausstattungen, Thekenkonzepte und Lösungen für den mobilen und stationären Fachhandel
  • Maschinen und technische Hilfsmittel für die Fischverarbeitung
  • Technologie und Zubehör für die Fischzucht

fish international – das sind über 10.000 qm Ausstellungsfläche für mehr als 320 Ausstellende aus 27 Nationen. Fachexperten aus der Fischindustrie, dem Großhandel, Einzelhandel und der Gastronomie besuchen die Fischmesse um Lieferanten zu finden, sich zu informieren und auszutauschen.

85% der Fachbesucher sind an Einkaufsentscheidungen in ihrem Unternehmen beteiligt.

gastro iventDie GASTRO IVENT, die sonst parallel stattfindet, wird in 2023 als Special Edition unabhängig von der fish international vom 28. bis 30. Januar 2023 veranstaltet. Ab 2024 gehen wir den Weg dann wieder gemeinsam.